khashuris dzaglebi

So, it’s no secret I’m a dog lover. And one of the hardest things I did before coming here was deliver my boy Chester to Nancy, my ex-mother-in-law. I couldn’t hope for a better foster mom for him, but I miss him terribly. So, imagine how awful it was to be in Georgia for almost two months before I was “officially” allowed to touch a dog. There are dogs everywhere here. It isn’t quite as insane as Santiago, Chile, but you do see them on the streets everywhere. It is hard to tell if they have homes or not. But even when they have homes, they aren’t really taken care of. You can’t even buy dog food in Khashuri. But these dogs have street smarts. They walk down busy streets and know when to get out of the way. I’m afraid I can’t say the same for my pup who is brighter than the average pup. Some of them are friendly but they will never approach you. If you approach them, they will allow you to pet them with a fair amount of leeriness which leads you to wonder what they’ve experienced in their lives.

At any rate, since I couldn’t pet them, I decided to start photographing them. The project has been idle for a while as I grew tired of carrying around my camera all the time. But since I’m missing my boy an awful lot today, I thought I’d finally post the photos I had. Enjoy.

I do plan to update everyone on the MANY other happenings in my life as well. But this was quick and easy. And sometimes it is better just to get something done.
DSC01507

DSC01510

Saw this guy again the other day outside a cafe. The owner freaked when I petted him. But he was by far the cleanest dog I've touched in Georgia. And I've petted a lot of them.

Saw this guy again the other day outside a cafe. The owner freaked when I petted him. But he was by far the cleanest dog I’ve touched in Georgia. And I’ve petted a lot of them.

DSC01513

DSC01517

DSC01534

A shar-pei! This was the first leashed dog I saw in Georgia. I've only seen a few others since.

A shar-pei! Seeing him almost made me cry. This was the first leashed dog I saw in Georgia. I’ve only seen a few others since.

Unfortunately he had an ear infection. But the fact the owner seemed concerned was a positive sign.

Unfortunately he had an ear infection. But the fact the owner seemed concerned was a positive sign.

People here seem to love puppies. I haven't seen much evidence that the interest lasts much after puppyhood though.

People here seem to love puppies. I haven’t seen much evidence that the interest lasts much after puppyhood though.

DSC01664

One thought on “khashuris dzaglebi

Leave a Reply

